Bay City, Michigan 48706
Front Page Photo of the Day Log-IN About us
Home Second Floor The Experts Events Podcasts Community Arts/Theater
Business Schools Government Downtown Local News Opinion Health/Fitness
Events Groups & Non-Profits
Issue 1561 November 25, 2012
(Prior Story)   Groups & Non-Profits ArTicle 11501   (Next Story)
Sponsored by Copoco Community Credit Union

Spend an Evening with the Incredible Dr. Howard Markel

Presented by The Friends of the Bay County Libraries

March 27, 2019       Leave a Comment
By: Mary Penn

Printer Friendly Story View



The Friends of the Bay County Libraries are pleased to present an incredible evening with Dr. Howard Markel, who will present his latest book, "The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek", at The State Theatre of Bay City on Thursday, April 11 at 7:00 pm. The event is FREE and open to the public.

"The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek" paints an incredible picture of more than just the cereal brand most people connect to the name. This exceptionally written slice of American history weaves the tale of two brothers with competing ideologies. Racism, Nazi eugenics, sanitariums, industry, humanity, generosity, (and yes, CORN FLAKES) make for a fascinating story that is wildly popular with book clubs, those who enjoy a good story about Michigan entrepreneurs, and history buffs of all types.

A semi-finalist for the PEN America Literary Prize in Biography, it was named Best Book of the Month (History, August 2017) by Amazon Books, Best Book of the Summer, 2017 by Newsday, Best Nonfiction Book (Biography) of the Year, 2017 by Kirkus Review, and Best Nonfiction Book of the Year, 2017 by The Boston Globe. "The Kelloggs..." was also chosen by the State of Michigan Department of Education and the Library of Michigan as the Michigan Notable Book for 2018.

Howard Markel, M.D., Ph.D., is the George E. Wantz Distinguished Professor of the History of Medicine, Director of the Center for the History of Medicine at the University of Michigan. A prolific author, Dr. Markel has written several other books and his articles have appeared in The New York Times, The Journal of the American Medical Association, and The New England Journal of Medicine. Fans of NPR and Michigan Radio may recognize Dr. Markel, who has been a guest expert on both stations. Markel is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Copies of "The Kelloggs..." are available at BCLS branches and through the OverDrive app on the library website at www.baycountylibrary.org. Read more about all of Dr. Markel's projects at www.howardmarkel.com.

Printer Friendly Story View
Prior Article

March 30, 2019
by: Kathy Rupert-Mathews
MOVIE REVIEW: Wow ... I Saw "Us" -- The Latest from Jordan Peele.
Next Article

March 27, 2019
by: O. J. Cunningham
Copper Cup Hockey Tournament At Bay Ice Arena This Weekend
Agree? or Disagree?


Mary Penn

Mary Penn currently serves as Marketing Manager for the Bay County Library System.

More from Mary Penn

Send This Story to a Friend!       Letter to the editor       Link to this Story
Printer-Friendly Story View


--- Advertisments ---
     


0200 Nd: 04-14-2019 d 4 cpr 1





SPONSORED LINKS

LOCAL LINKS
(Ads not affiliated with Google)




Ads By MyBayCity.com
Bay Area Chamber of Commerce
Click Here to Visit Our Site!
Improving The Economic Climate, Business Environment & Quality of Living Throughout The Bay Area

Ads By MyBayCity.com
Bay Area Chamber of Commerce
Click Here to Visit Our Site!
Improving The Economic Climate, Business Environment & Quality of Living Throughout The Bay Area

Ads By MyBayCity.com
Rotary Club of Bay City
rotary.org
Click Here To Join Today





Designed at OJ Advertising, Inc. (V3) (v3) Software by Mid-Michigan Computer Consultants
Bay City, Michigan USA
All Photographs and Content Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by OJA/MMCC. They may be used by permission only.
P3V3-0200 (1) 0   ID:Default   UserID:Default   Type:reader   R:x   PubID:mbC   NewspaperID:1561
  pid:1560   pd:11-18-2012   nd:2019-04-14   ax:2019-04-18   Site:5   ArticleID: 11501   MaxA: 999999   MaxAA: 999999
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)