Bay City, Michigan 48706
Front Page Photo of the Day Log-IN About us
Home Second Floor The Experts Events Podcasts Community Arts/Theater
Business Schools Government Downtown Local News Opinion Health/Fitness
Events Groups & Non-Profits
Issue 1561 November 25, 2012
(Prior Story)   Sports ArTicle 10314   (Next Story)


(L/R) Bay City's Chad Krager and Randy Wackerle took home the Bean-Smith Paddleball Gold for the sixth straight year.

39th Bean-Smith Paddleball Results

February 20, 2016       Leave a Comment
By: O. J. Cunningham

Printer Friendly Story View

Twenty Eight paddles hooked up with 28 players from around the State to compete in the 39th Herb Bean/ Fred Smith Paddleball Memorial Tournament at the Dow Bay Area Family Y.

The names Herb Bean and Fred Smith are well-known among veteran paddle-ballers at the Bay Area Family YMCA. Bean, a circus clown, and acrobat, and Smith, a local businessman, were both long-time paddleball players from Bay City.

When Bean passed away unexpectedly during surgery, Fred Smith started a paddleball tournament in Herb Bean's honor. The following year, Smith also passed away unexpectedly and thus the Bean/Smith Tournament was born - Now in its 38th year.

In the 2016 Open Division, Bay City's Chad Krager and Randy Wackerle took home the gold for the sixth straight year. The Student/Teacher duo tied Bay City Hall of Famer Mike Wisniewski's record of six straight from 2004 to2008. In the finals, Krager/Wackerle defeated E. Lansing's Joe Baldori and Bay City's Adam Koehler 21-10, 21-18.

(L/R) A Division - Ann Arbor's Eugene Rush & Bay City's Scott Wittbrodt. B Division - Bay City's Pat O'Shea and Bill Jamrog. C Division - Bay City's Norm Halstead and Rick Ricard
Photo by O. J. Cunningham

The A Division saw Ann Arbor's Eugene Rush and Bay City's Scott Wittbrodt out-shoot Ann Arbor's Jim Swendris and Jim Richter 21-17, 21-12.

The B Division Finals had two Bay City teams. Pat O'Shea and Bill Jamrog defeated Thomas Bodary and Eric Boks in a 3 game tie-breaker 14-21, 21-12, 21-16.

The C Division Finals was Bay City's Norm Halstead and Rick Ricard over Traverse City's Mitch Truemner and Bay City's Rick Kogelman in another tie-breaker 21-15, 18-21, 21-16.

Midland Paddleball Fans -- Brian Sirrine, Paul Chritz, Randy Hoyle, and Kevin Marsh
Photo by O. J. Cunningham

Printer Friendly Story View
Prior Article

April 17, 2018
by: Mary Penn
Next Article

April 16, 2018
by: O. J. Cunningham
Top Paddleball Player Emmitt Coe in Bay City to Promote National Tourney
Agree? or Disagree?

O. J. Cunningham

O. J. Cunningham is the Publisher of Cunningham previously published Sports Page & Bay City Enterprise. He is the President/CEO of OJ Advertising, Inc.

More from O. J. Cunningham

Send This Story to a Friend!       Letter to the editor       Link to this Story
Printer-Friendly Story View

--- Advertisments ---

0200 Nd: 04-17-2018 d 4 cpr 1


(Ads not affiliated with Google)

Ads By
Jean Ann Deshano
Foreclosure List

Ads By
Rotary Club of Bay City
Click Here To Join Today

Ads By
Click Here!
Come See What Everyone is Talking About!

Designed at OJ Advertising, Inc. (V3) (v3) Software by Mid-Michigan Computer Consultants
Bay City, Michigan USA
All Photographs and Content Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by OJA/MMCC. They may be used by permission only.
P3V3-0200 (1) 0   ID:Default   UserID:Default   Type:reader   R:x   PubID:mbC   NewspaperID:1561
  pid:1560   pd:11-18-2012   nd:2018-04-17   ax:2018-04-21   Site:5   ArticleID:10314   MaxA: 999999   MaxAA: 999999
CCBot/2.0 (